jump to navigation

Mellow Mushroom Centennial: I might need a raise…… June 9, 2011

Posted by buzzwordz in Brent Ruder, Buzzwordz Trivia, Centennial, Mellow Mushroom-Centennial.
trackback

Greatings ‘Shroomers.

I really like my job as a Trivia Host. It is s fun way to decompress after a long week at my real, mortgage paying job.  I was a little surprised last night when I checked in with the terrific staff at Mellow Mushroom that a party of 30, let me repeat that. 30 people had reserved tables in an area where they could drink beer cheaply and have fun playing trivia.

I thought it was a prank for me and the bar. As is not unusual, I was wrong. @ 6:45, 30 interns from #### showed up and played with the usual large number of teams., combining for an incredible number of teams for the entire night.

I informed the interns that they could only have 6 per team. One of them quickly added up that it would require 5 separate teams. (I’m  glad that college education has paid for itself. Their parents must be so proud) 

We started right at 7:00, but due to the number of teams we ran later than usual. This plays havoc on my much-needed beauty rest.  Round one had a two-way tie between two of the intern teams, Dynasty and Niagara. A very long Rock-Paper-Sissors battle saw the outcome go to Dynasty. There was much joy and Hi-5’s and beer cheers after the round.

The regular teams buckled down and showed the young’ uns how this game is played. A three-way tie between Cornfed, Smart Cookie and Muddy Flappers went into overtime to  determine the winner. Because of the three teams and the time involved, I stuck to the script and used the traditional tie breaker question. Muddy Flapper knows about water apparently. They were very close to the exact answer and took the round.

The end results were as follows: Muddy Flappers in first. Newbie Cornfed in 2nd, and Smart Cookie in third. Although I thought I was going to get to keep the 2nd place gift certificate after Cornfed paid their bill and left before I could give them their hard-won prize.

Somewhere in the bottom were late arrival Pedro, Extreme, Napalm, Smarties and Bits, just to name a few.

I hope the interns found a new home for cheep beer and fun trivia. I would normally say, “Tell your friends.” But, I’m not sure we could squeeze in any more players without upsetting the Centennial FD.

Until next week.

Brent

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

