jump to navigation

Old Chicago Lakewood: Hooked on Phonics? August 18, 2010

Posted by buzzwordz in Brent Ruder, Buzzwordz Trivia, Lakewood, CO.
trackback

Greetings from Old Chicago Lakewood. On a night designed for sitting on their outdoor patio, we had a nice showing of some newbies that wanted to try their luck at Buzzwordz Trivia.

Ihave mentioned this before, but some team names just should not be mentioned out loud while other people are eating. I did not mention one team name at the end of round one just for that purpose. They told me that I was not pronouncing the team name correctly. Their team name was an homage to a SNL skit that featured One of the Baldwin brothers, Alec I think, being interviewed on NPR at Christmas Time about his great tasting Schmelly Balls. It does not take much of an imagination to figure out what I was trying  not to say in  a crowded restaurant. In my defense, I do not grade answers based upon spelling. if I did, some teams would be in sad shape at the end of the game. However, I do expect your team name that you write down on your first answer sheet to be somewhat legible.

Now that my semi-rant is done, I will cease with my Dennis Miller imitation, ands continue with the game results.

Round one had Stumpy take the win, thanks in part to the Email Bonus Question. Remember to sign up, it’s a free point. And we do not sell your email to the Nigerian Lottery Company, promise. They bested Money Shot and I was Dead at the Time.

Team name of the week went to Stupid, but Pretty. Risk of harassment charges prevent me from saying anything else.

The second round saw the ‘aforementioned Schmelly Balls take a one point victory over I Was Dead At the Time. Fishing, come on guys, give me a better name next time, took third.

The last round shook up the scores dramatically, as the Buzz Beater Question and the Old Chicago You Make the Wager question, ( Not a very catchy name, but it’s a work in progress) saw Fishing jump to the lead. Blackout came out of nowhere for second and Beers came in third.

The overall victory went to Fishing. I think they were surprised they won. They were up on the patio all night admiring the view. Blackout and Stumpy tied for second. Stumpy won the tie-breaker and Blackout accepted the bronze. Actually, it was free beer for them.

So to repeat. Funny names that are spelled correctly are much preferred over names that look like hieroglyphics.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

