jump to navigation

Old Chicago Lakewood; I Object your Honor July 7, 2010

Posted by buzzwordz in Brent Ruder, Buzzwordz Trivia, Lakewood, CO, Old Chicago-Lakewood.
trackback

On a Stormy night outside the bar, it was a calm and cool evening inside Old Chicago Lakewood.  Well, it was calm, until the heat on the teams got hotter than the cooks working over the grill in the kitchen. One point seperated the overall  winner from the second and third place finishers.

Just a reminder to all teams that play Buzzwordz Trivia. You need to hand in your answers after each question is asked. You cannot wait until the end of the round and bring them all up to me at once and expect me to give you all the points. Especially if you somehow picked every answer correct while you were playing up on the rooftop bar, while I was downstairs.  I read the question off of one of the many TV screens. You think about the answer. When the bee appears on the screen, you bring your answers to me. I read the correct answer off the TV screen. I keep a record of all the teams scores. Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

Any questions?

We started off Round one with a 5-way ties for second place. I knew this was going to be a tightly contested game for all three rounds. Fortunately, Skizz Mizzers beat the 5 other teams by a point. Gotta love the email bonus question. Without it, we would still be playing tie-breakers until closing time. And I need my beauty sleep. And a few others beauty sleep too.

Round two settled down a little with Hooter’s Scooters edging out the Skizz Mizzers and another three way tie for third among I was Dead at the Time, No Name and K. ( Not very original names folks. I expect better from you all )

Between the 8 point question and the Old Chicago You Make the Call question, I was expecting seperation between the teams as we started the third round. Wrong on my part.  Boulder Beer took the final game with I was Dead At The Time and Skizz Mizzers stalking the pack for third.

Quick shout out to I Was Dead At The Time. They were studying for their bar exam while playing at the same time. Granted, the exam is in three weeks, but still, I had a hard enough time studying with a TV in the background on back in my day. Let alone a bar full of TVs and loud people yapping in my ear. Good Luck. And don’t forget to forget your Rule Against Perpetuities.

The overall game saw  a tie for second place between Boulder Beer and I Was Dead at The Time. They decided the first losers position in the time honored Old Chicago fashion; Rock . Paper. Sissors. IWDATT and their ‘Paper’ led them to victory.

But the overall winner was Skizz Mizzers in a game that was only overshadowed by the Rockies incredible 9th inning comeback that was watched by the entire bar on one of the 15 or so TVs.

What an exciting night. I will be gone on vacation to see my nephew get married in Illinois next week. I will see you in two weeks.

Brent

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

